Character Development

Character Development

At Hyde High School, we are determined to provide students with a wealth of opportunities, both inside and beyond the classroom. We aim to enable all our students to develop into confident and compassionate young adults with a strong moral code so that they are able to take their place as responsible citizens, ready to contribute positively to their communities and the wider world around them.

We encourage our students to develop a commitment to serving others, to participate in a wide range of activities (both in and outside school), to develop the ability to lead others and of course, the skills to effectively learn.

Character Pillars Image

Four Pillars

Increasingly, both employers and further education institutions are looking for qualities that go beyond examination performance. The aim of the Character Development initiative is to help identify and develop these qualities but, perhaps even more importantly, to recognise and reward students whilst they develop into skilled, strong, kind and responsible citizens equipped for a rapidly changing world.

With a range of activities to get involved in, students will be given the opportunity to develop and practice the skills and qualities under the ‘Four Character Pillars’ highlighted below:

  • Scholarship – “the acquisition of knowledge or skills through study, experience, or being taught”
  • Leadership – “the action of leading a group of people or an organisation, or the ability to do this”
  • Community – “an act of helpful activity”
  • Participation – “the action of taking part in something”



Successful completion of activities related to any of the Four Character Pillars will earn students a pin badge to wear proudly on their blazers. These will be awarded to successful students throughout the school year in formal assemblies and at regular celebration evenings to which parents and carers will be invited. There are three levels of achievement for each of the Character Pillars, with each one having gradually more challenging completion criteria:

  • Level 1 = Apprentice (beginner)
  • Level 2 = Graduate (developed)
  • Level 3 = Master (advanced)

HHS Character Badges V4 Rendered Set 2  removebg preview

Please click on the link for more details and the success criteria for each Character Pillar